99 word prompt : And the light dawns

June 15, 2017 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story that symbolically, mythically, mystically, or realistically involves dawn, as a noun or verb. Write about the dawn of time or the time of dawn, or the dawning of an idea. As always, go where the prompt leads.

To participate, go to this link: https://carrotranch.com/2017/06/15/june-15-flash-fiction-challenge/

 

I reach for my dark glasses, using nimble fingers to see them on the shelf beside my bed.  Once they cover my pale blue eyes, it’s safe to turn on a 40 watt bulb.

“Before the flood of Noah, there was the firmament,” my mother used to say. “Water remained in the clouds, dividing Earth from the stars.”

My favorite times of day are dusk and dawn. For those few minutes, I can remove my glasses in nature’s soft light.  Better are the times an icing of dark grey cloud spreads over the horizon.

Perhaps there’s a firmament gene?