#Writephoto : double derelict

Just got internet access back again about 1/2 hour ago.  I’m trying to do catch-up with my email.  🙂

But first…

“Grandma!  You lived in…in…that?”  My 10-year-old granddaughter asked.

Wearing multi-colored leggings that probably glowed in the dark, and a bright blue t-shirt, she huddled next to me as if a ghost threatened to come out and attack her. 

“We had a rose garden, 3 acres of apple trees, and lots of grass to play on,”  I said.

“But the roof is caved in and nothing’s left but stones.”

“There isn’t a thing on Earth that doesn’t become a derelict over time.” 

“Can I  text my friend Emma?”  She asked, looking toward our ride home.

“No.  Your phone is in the car next to my hiking gear for a reason.”

“Why?”  

“There’s a young oak just waiting to be climbed,” I said, pointing to a 20 foot tall specimen with strong arms.

“I can’t do that,” she said, eyes wide.  “It’s not safe.”

“I’ll climb the tree while you explore what’s left of the orchard.”

“Grandma!  You know I can’t do that! Someone will call protective services on you if I’m unattended.”

“What?”  I laughed, looking around at miles of land without internet service. “I remember running through the orchards, chomping into a crisp, sweet apple, taking in a breath of air that smelled of wild flowers, and laughing as I climbed an old oak tree a half mile from home!”

“You ate food off a tree?”

“And it tasted better back then, too,” I said.

“But it has to be inspected and have an expiration date…” 

“When it comes to raising children, this generation is derelict,” I grumbled.

“What does that mean, grandma?” 

“It means you’re no fun,” I replied, walking toward the car.