99 word prompt : Crudely Oil

April 27, 2017 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story that includes oil. It can be an oil refinery, the raw product or used as a commodity. How does oil fit into a plot or a genre? Go where the prompt leads. 

<_><_><_>

Three decades ago, at the slender age of 41, unemployment loomed in my future.  My sister tried to help me find a job, so she asked a friend in the oil industry about hiring me. 

Pre Hurricane Ike, amidst the oil refineries of coastal Texas and Louisiana, my sister arranged a lunch meeting to discuss the terms of my employment. 

Startled, like he’d just witnessed the first case of a tyrannous walking into a bar with a greyhound, he said, “She’s so delicate, not sturdy like you. I was expecting someone built like a man.”

I think he lived.