Joelle’s tales:  First Thursday of the month #TMAT120 #writing #prompt for April  

Welcome!!!!

Hope you’ll participate in the April #TMAT120!

 I publish links to all entries so that others will be led to your post.

TELL ME A TALE IN 120 WORDS

 tmat120

 

Welcome to April 6

Today’s prompt is:  A vignette from your childhood

So that you don’t feel so alone in your embarrassment, here’s a vignette from my childhood:

My sister is three years older.  Her childhood friendships have lasted a lifetime.  In school, children practiced avoidance skills on me. 

My one friend often refused to speak with me for weeks at a time.  Only desperate people tolerate temperamental friends.

What I loathed the most during childhood were sentences like this:  “Are you starting junior high? My lands, I’d never know you were 17.” 

My sister’s dark brown hair formed a white streak at 25.  I’m retired and I still have brown hairs mixed among the grey. 

At 17, when someone asked, “are you 12?” It was an insult.  But at 45 when someone asks your sister, “are you her mother?” her reaction is worth enduring the childhood insults.

 

Here are the rules:

  1. A prompt for #TMAT120 will be given the first Thursday of every month. The prompt challenge begins whenever it’s that day in your time zone. For example:  12:01am to 11:59pm April 6th. It ends on the 2nd Thursday of the month.  

  2. I will list the links to all participants on the 2nd Thursday of the month so that others will be led to your blog.  ☺   

  3. Limit your #TMAT120 post to 120 words. People who participate in limited-word prompts aren’t expecting a 1,000 word explanation before it begins.

  4. Include the picture above to show that you are participating in the #TMAT120. Please don’t alter (except for size).  

  5. Please don’t use hard-core curse words. Only lazy writers use variations of the F word for shock “value.”

  6. Copy and paste the URL in the reply section below, or you can do a pingback if you have a WordPress blog.

  7. Take time to read other people’s posts, after all it’s only 120 words. And you might make a new friend.

© Joelle LeGendre  Joelle’s tales:  Tell me a tale in 120 words