99 word prompt: A good “bye.”

March 30, 2017 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a hello or a goodbye. You can pick any greeting that grabs you from howdy to fare thee well. It will be interesting to see how the collection intertwines the opposite greetings. Go where the prompt leads you.

<_><_><_><_>

clipartkid.com

“Never trust your Aunt June,” Mom used to say. “She took what Mother willed to me and never could say a good thing about our family.”

Shortly after my 19th birthday, I travelled through 2 states to meet my estranged aunt.  She jabbered on about her son’s successful career as a fast food manager, then asked, “What do you plan to be?”

“Aunt June.  Did you steal…”

“Another genius,” she scoffed, rolling her eyes.

“…with a full scholarship in physics.”

“Ph…physics?”

“Mom was correct,” I said, frowning deeply. “You’re self-righteous and not very bright.”

Some goodbyes are so satisfying.