99 word prompt : an art-like substance

March 16, 2017 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) go down the rabbit hole to a place where art is not allowed. It could be a small story or a dystopian vision. Is there a power struggle over art? Would the general public miss it? Is the end of art a natural evolution? Go where the prompt leads.

<_><_><_>

Eyes closed, she slathered her canvas with bright green. 

Running through grass, following his terrored breath, she became the predator, leaping toward a man in khaki.  Past the point of  rational thought, he broke through a trap, the predator leaping in after him.

“This is my premiere piece,” she whispered.

“You’re jabbering again,” her husband said. 

She stiffened at his touch. “I didn’t know anyone was here.”

“I’ve been trying to tell you I’m going to Africa tomorrow!”

“I know,” she sighed. “I saw your death.”

“Our marriage is as dead as your paintings.”

“Goodbye love,” she said, relieved.