99 word prompt : Thinly veiled

February 23, 2017 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a migration story. It can imagine the dusty or arctic trails of the frontiers past or look to the travel across the galaxy. What issue about modern migration bans might influence an artistic expression in a flash? Migrate where the prompt leads you.

“Women freed from ISIS are burning their veils,” I said, staring at the video on-screen.

“I just watched a classroom full of girls learning how to wear one,” My husband chuckled.

Aghast, I asked, “Where was this?”

“The Midwest.”

“If you put oil and water in a blender, they’ll still find a way to separate once the whirring stops,” I frowned.

“What does that have to do with veils?”

“Migration! We’re the USA, not the dark-ages,” I said. 

“What do veils have to do with migration?”

“Why don’t you ask Native Americans what happened when they adopted European clothing?”