99 word #flashfiction #Challenge: Rocky road

February 2, 2017 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story about a rock in the road. It can be physical, adding to a plot twist, or it can be metaphorical for a barrier or hardship. Go where you find the rock.

<_><_><_>

From: cargurus.com.  This looks like the Trooper I purchased in 1989. That was the year they put a computer into it. Just NOT the same.

In 1989, my third Geology field trip in 3 years, our instructor took the back roads into Nevada and Utah.  Instead of a rental van, we were part of an Isuzu Trooper convoy.

Dust flew from his back wheels, impeding the vision of those behind him.  Stinging sand became vultures nesting in our hair.  With days between shower facilities, I was happy that I’d chosen a cap and NOIR dark glasses for the trip.

On a rare paved road, hillside striations intrigued the newbie. “What kind of rock is this?”

“I don’t do 60 MPH geology,” the instructor replied.

february-2