#Blogging, #writing, #poetry…why me?

trees

Writers: Seeing the world in a different way every D@%#&D  day

More useless advice about writing that you probably didn’t need:

  1. You can’t write if you’re brain-dead.  Recently, I spent 17 hours writing, sans potty breaks and meals.  The next day my brain felt like the inside of a s’mores and my back hurt like I was 95.  A few more days like that one and writer’s block will be the least of my worries.  Take a walk, go to a yoga class, but get up off your derriere once in a while so your entire body doesn’t freeze in place.  

  2. If you’re a blogger, participate in at least 2 writing challenges a week.  It stimulates your mind and connects you with other bloggers who have the same interests.  It’s especially helpful when writer’s block is bogging you down.

  3. Find your inner poet.  It’s an expression of who you are, not a conduit to unimaginable wealth.   I have a secret to tell you.  Until recently, I never liked poetry.  Well…that’s not entirely true.  I used to think that poetry was too sappy and it had to rhyme.  My two favorite poets were (1)Robert Frost and his roads less traveled (hint: It wasn’t a rose garden) & (2)Helen Steiner Rice and her windows of gold (hint: the windows are golder on the other side).  Haiku (5-7-5 syllables) and tanka (5-7-5-7-7 syllables) help you learn to express emotions in very few words.  If you’re interested, I can provide links to the two I like the best.

  4. Don’t let a bout of insomnia go to waste.  If your mind won’t let you sleep, don’t just lay there; write something.  You’re lying in bed thinking about your characters anyway, so get up and find new and exciting ways to make life as miserable for them as it is for you at that moment.

  5. Stop asking, “Why me?”  That’s like asking a tour bike racer why he feels compelled to participate in a ball crushing experience every D@%#&D day, or why anyone in their right mind thinks that math is fun.

All right, I’ve ingested peppermint tea and I’m ready to go to bed…

…after I finish writing out the chapter that refuses to let me sleep.