#amwriting #soCS Stream of Consciousness Saturday: Remembering

 

“…Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “mem.” Choose a word or words with the letters “mem” in that order and run with it.”

Remembering

It was a balmy Saturday night, the tiny orange lights from their cigarettes glowing every time they took a puff. My mother was one of the few non-smokers in the group as they discussed topics of no interest to a child too busy running her bare feet over the Bermuda grass just for the feel of it.  

Few types of grass grew in South Florida without a ton of fertilizer, but Bermuda grass seemed to thrive on sand as it crawled like a centipede shaped vine across the yard.

Past a full moon, an airplane flew, circling around in a bid to land at the International Airport a mile from my home.  So much promise for the future, so many possible paths, my mind was a Disney Land of wishes, hopes, dreams that added to  the surreal-ness of that moment.

I was not able to give my own children that feeling of security a child gets when their parents stay together for life.  I didn’t know there was such a thing as divorce until 7th grade, when one of my classmates told me her parents weren’t together anymore.  My children learned about it the hard way, but only after their father died when they were 5 and 7.

As a young adult, I hated staying in one place.  They value the comfort of finding that one person to marry who will stay with them for life.  Personally, I’m happy they learned from my mistakes, for after their father died, I married 3 more times.

I was fortunate to be blessed with children who raised themselves well.  One is a professor, the other a manager in a telecommunications company.  They are endowed with a stellar work ethic and family values that I wish I could take credit for imparting.  But I can’t.

Some times in life, God gives you a gift, and the gift of that one moment of happy as a child, and the gift of a lifetime blessed with the worlds best children are not to be taken for granted.

Memories can be fleeting things, but the feelings, sights, and scents linger long after the specifics have faded away.