#Dogs : Psychology 101?

If there were such an animal, I’d take a course called Dog Psychology 101.
.
I’d planned to spend the morning continuing to prepare for cooler weather by packing summer away and hanging winter in the closet.
 
This is what happened instead: After Hubby went to town on the motorcycle for a few groceries, I took the sheets off the bed, shared a little turkey bacon with doggies, and spent the next 2 hours looking for the Fat White Dog.
1 happy dog

FWD under happier circumstances

 
I tripped through the sand and weeds, ruining my flip-flops on thorns, and walked through roads that aren’t as smooth as the one in this picture…
p1050472
.
…I feared the worst.
.
I called her name until my throat was hoarse.  Hubby arrived back and he called out for her, too, walking through woods and around the property —  but to no avail.  I went into the laundry room to cry until my eyes were raw.
Where was she?
 
Hubby found her, or I should say she allowed him to find her.  She crawled out from under the car once I was in the house. This is very unusual behavior for FWD and we were concerned something was going wrong with her brain.
.
Then I remembered last week.  
.
LAST WEEK:  I took the sheets off the bed and vacuumed the floor, then I gave the dogs a treat and tried to lead the Fat White Dog to the bath tub.  She growled and snapped at me.  I gave the others a bath, and had to ask Hubby for help to get her into the tub.  
.
BATHING ROUTINE:  I sing to the doggies, make sure the water is warm but not too hot, use a gentle, medicated shampoo, and tell them how much I love them.  The other doggies stand in the tub as if it’s the worst humiliation EVER, but Fat White Dog looks as if it’s the worst form of torture imaginable.  
.
The aftermath of bathing FWD looks as if half the sand in the yard had been on her, but that’s only visible once the black water drains from the tub.  
.
THIS WEEK:  When I took the sheets off the bed this morning and started giving dogs a little of the turkey bacon from my lunch, she was outta there.  She didn’t emerge from under the car until I was in the house, and only because Hubby called her.
.
I know why she was hiding, so then…why do I want to take a Dog Psychology course? Why not astronomy?  
.
Most people want to know the secrets of the universe.  I want to know why dogs hate baths so much.  
.
What can possibly be better than knowing how to make bath time fun for a dog?