A Complaint about Nitro Pro by a dissatisfied dyslexic

I’m royally miffed…
.
drawing of computer explosion
 
…and in a battle of wills with the Nitro Pro people.  Unless I get a refund of $57.50, this isn’t over.
.
Nitro Pro is PDF software you’re supposed to be able to use to create and edit.  
.
I’m a self-employed consultant who has a contract with an agency to do a specific job.  That job requires a lot of reading and writing.  
.
I paid $95 for a subscription to Nitro Pro in 2015.
.
I needed PDF software to convert scans to text in order to read the PDF’s of scanned documents with a text reader.
.
Being dyslexic, I need to use a text reader in order to do my job right. That’s not the problem of the people who contract with me to provide a specific service.
.
Without a text reader, this is how I feel at the end of the workday:
.
paperwork
.
Nitro Pro presented me with  a monthly rate, but I had to pay it yearly. That wasn’t a problem in 2015, but I knew that I was going to retire in 2016 and wouldn’t need it for the entire year…
.
so when I went to renew it a second time,
I asked if I could get a refund for the unused months when I retired.
.
I have an email promising that I could cancel when I was ready and I would receive a pro-rated refund.
.
Last month, I asked to cancel the subscription and receive a refund.
.
This is what the subsequent stream of email felt like:
.
.
I received an email stating that my subscription was cancelled, so I deleted Nitro Pro from the computer I’m using where I’m doing contract work.  
.
I waited for the refund.  
NOTHING.
.
I wrote an email asking about my refund and received this reply:
.
“We provide refunds within 30 days of the purchase.”
.
  • I have been going round and round with “customer support.”
  • I’ve asked to have a supervisor review it
  • and every single time I have to have a new “ticket.”
No, they don’t ask if the problem was solved to your satisfaction. No, they don’t bump it up to a supervisor.  They just say it was “resolved” and you have to start a new ticket.
.
After a great deal of searching, I found the address of their corporate headquarters in the USA:
.

Nitro HQ San Francisco, 225 Bush St, Suite #700, San Francisco, CA 94104

.
It’s not just about the $57.50 they owe, it’s about the fact that I was lied to by one or more of their employees and the “customer support” method they have in place makes it impossible to get anything resolved.
.
I’ll be writing to their headquarters once I calm down enough to write a letter that doesn’t have steam coming out of the sides.
.
If we can come to a reasonable resolution, I’ll let you know.  If not, believe me, you and 5,900 other readers will be well aware of exactly why.