Playing with words

just one of the dogs

Just one of the dogs

I don’t like hard-core curse words. I swore if I heard, “That’s a 4-letter word!” one more time I’d write a post about it.
.
Yes…I know… 
 
Love.   A 4-letter word.
Hope. Another 4-letter word.
Care.   Yep, another 4-letter word.
Kind.
Give.
 
The number of 4-letter words in the English language exceeds 5,000.  That is a conservative estimate.
 
It’s not the number of letters, it’s the letters we choose to use when we create our words and how we string them together.
 
  • Evil, vile, live, veil.
  • Santa, Satan.
  • Care, race.
Emotions flow through us to match our experiences…and our expectations.
 
How about a few words that play with our expectations?
 
JUST ONE OF THE DOGS
“Satan snorted at him,” the rancher said. “The thief crapped his pants and dropped his tools when the barbed wire tore a hole in his crotch.”
 
“That’s a lot of bull,” I replied, petting 2000 pounds of beef that just wanted me to scratch behind his ear.
 
“He thinks he’s one of the dogs,” the rancher said with a scowl. “If that thing sit’s in your lap, his butt‘s gonna be the last thing you see. My husband wants to sell…”
 
“I thought you said he was a pet?”
 
“Don’t jump on me before I have a chance to finish,” she frowned. “Bruno wants to sell Satan’s sperm. Who in their right mind wants a ranch full of doggie-bulls that just want to be petted? Do you know how much it costs to feed this D@&ned thing?”
 .
Then why did you name him Satan?”
.
“Ever heard of a bull named Happy?” she asked, giving me that angry-mom glare.  “Bulls are named Satan, Beelzebub, Demon, Lucifer…”
.
Mind if I take the perp to the station, Mrs. Love?”  I asked politely.  “He won’t stop screaming.”
.
“Sure thing Jesus,”  she smirked.  “Tell Maria I said hello.
.
“Where did you meet my mother?”  I gasped.
.
“Your mama sits next to me at mass,”  she said with a wry smile.  
.
4-letter words.  Can’t live with them, can’t live without them, there are times when you can’t understand how the H-E-double L they manage to live with each other, and they don’t have to be hard core to scare the poop out of you. 
.
Perception is the problem, and that’s no 4-letter word.  🙂