#WQWWC – Writers Quote Wednesday #Writing Challenge – “Innocence”

“Give me a child and I’ll shape him into anything,”  — B.F. Skinner

“Writing novels preserves you in a state of innocence – a lot passes you by – simply because your attention is otherwise diverted,”  –Anita Brookner

The first quote is a chilling reminder that the innocent mind can be free to express, explore, and become; or molded into what it was never meant to be.  

The second quote reminds me why I write.

Thank you, Colleen, for being my Muse today.  🙂
.
front yard
.
When you’re very young, your world revolves around getting your needs met here and now. Survival.
 
As teens, you search for your place in the world, looking to friends, family, teachers, anything outside the “you” to define who you are. Socialization.
 
If you’re surrounded by people who are constantly telling you who you’re supposed to be, you go through life as an empty shell filled up by other people’s expectations.
 
Most people sleepwalk through a life unfulfilled. Few have a dream that they can point to and say, “I did it!” That’s how I felt the day I held a copy of my book in my hands, the tangible proof that my dream…my life…was fulfilled.
 
Writing is cheaper than psychotherapy and it works better. That is how I finally found the true me.
 
You’ll know when that happens.  You won’t have to live in a certain home, in a certain way according to someone else’s definition of what that’s supposed to be. “Home” will be wherever you are.
 
What dreams do you have, and in what way can you fulfill your life with them?