#Writing with the #cat

Wish I had a video that accurately shows my dilemma, but my cell phone is 12 years old and doesn’t have that feature.  Until I decide to upgrade to the 21st century, this is the best I can do:

Meet Other Brother Coon Cat (OBCC for short):

kitty tummy

That is MY half of the desk.  As you can see, there is a cat sleeping on it. 

I’m not sure what his problem is.  Yesterday was more like this:

catlaserprinter.

and this

cat scan

and THIS:

writing muse

As I was trying to work, OBCC started playing the most infuriating of cat games, “Try to lay on mom’s work.”  

I could see it coming, he’d yawn, stretch, and quietly move his body upward, then scamper across the keyboard trying to leap-and-lay before I could lift my work off my side of the desk.

He’d pretend to settle down, licking a paw and ignoring the human.  So, I put my work on his side of the desk.  He jumped to the floor, slinking in back of my chair, and tried to lunge at my work again. But I was on to him.  It was up and away prior to his paws touching down. He slid a few inches across the desk when he hit plastic and not paper.

I didn’t need more claw marks on my desk.

This is what it looks like when I’m not fast enough to move my work:  

P1040220

Personally, I think they’d be just as happy if the human vacated the room and left the desk to the obviously superior felines.

OBCC takes over desk

It’s not like my coon cats are hurting for places to lay down.  But nooooo… they have to sit on whatever is garnering my attention at the moment.

OBCC is presently sleeping peacefully, but I know that the moment I bring out my work he’s going to be playing his game. 

If he starts pulling that #*%& again, I’ll do what I had to do yesterday; open a can of food, put him on his half of the kitchen counter and then quietly close the door to my office.

FEED ME!!!

FEED ME!!!

He’ll finish the food with his brother, but…

… but then he’ll stand at the office door yowling to get in! The gawd-awful cacophony of caterwauling sounds like an air raid siren mated with a banchee.  Unfortunately, the resulting offspring looks a lot like a cat with the worlds cutest 12 inch tail that feels like velvet to pet.

Pray for me.