#WQWWC – Writers Quote ‘Thursday’ #Writing Challenge – “Believe”

Self-education is, I firmly believe, the only kind of education there is. –Isaac Asimov

Foundation gnome.jpg

From: Wikipedia

My sister, an avid reader, introduced me to Asimov’s Foundation trilogy.  It was old news by the time I read it.  

Had my sister not encouraged me to put forth the effort to read something, I doubt that my reading skills would be as good as they are today.  Once I discovered SciFi, it didn’t matter how much effort it took to plow through the words.  I remember the emotions of expectation, wonder…satisfaction; and yet I could read the same book again a few months later without remembering anything about it.

She didn’t know how profoundly SciFi had affected my life until the day I incessantly nagged her to edit my first attempt at writing a book.

I remember being on the precipice of puberty, walking with my mother and sister to a building so old it smelled of musty books and an accumulation of sweat that a generation of readers exuded in the South Florida heat while looking through stacks thrown onto shelves by type, but in no particular order.  

While I combed through the science fiction and sheet music sections, my sister looked for a variety of different books.  We’d walk the warped wooden flooring up to a counter that once had sheen, sans the nicks and scratches, paying 5 cents a book for our discoveries.  

Among my favorites were the sheet music from 1920 and, of course, paperback copies of Asimov, Silverberg, Heinlein, and others from the Golden Age of SciFi.

Belief isn’t just the realm of religion, it is the catalyst needed to imagine worlds, universes and inventions we have not yet encountered.  In fact, I have believed for decades that science and spirituality are 2 sides of the same coin; when you try to erase one side, you compromise the integrity of the whole.

Here are a few hundred reasons why I say that. (From Technovelgy)

Timeline of Science Fiction Ideas, Technology and Inventions
(sorted by Publication Date)

Most of these items are linked to information about similar real-life inventions and inventors…

Although I have never enjoyed the talent in science or writing that Asimov possessed, I share his sentiment about why I write:

I write for the same reason I breathe – because if I didn’t, I would die.   –Isaac Asimov