Caturday: Remembering #cats

 

 

Mitry 1

This picture, taken in 1991, shows my favorite cat, ‘Mitry and my daughter’s cat, Charlie Bear.  Sad to say, Charlie Bear (a Hemingway cat) disappeared during a move a few months after this picture was taken.  

I met ‘Mitry, a black and white ball of love, at the animal shelter near San Francisco.  

I wanted a kitten, but there were none left.  Huge at 1 1/2 years of age, he jumped in my lap and began to purr as if I had 20 cats contentedly curled up on me.  After that, no other cat would do.

Dmitry 1997

On his first visit to the vet, I was told that ‘Mitry had a heart problem and probably wouldn’t live past the age of 3.   

We moved 4 times between 1990 and 1993, and he flew from Reno, Nevada to Houston, Texas on a plane so that he didn’t have to travel all that distance with us in a rental truck.  

The only cat who acclimated to a move from place to place, he immediately quelled any neighborhood cats who wanted to show him who was alpha.  All it took was a few swats with a well-aimed  paw and they were out of there!  Yes, he defended his territory, but he was kind to those who didn’t pose a threat.    

Mitry-Cbear

He stayed with me until he passed away in 2001 at the age of 13 from heart failure.

I still miss him and the tears are forming as I write this.  Some spirits remain a part of you in a place that no other can  touch.  The one for me is ‘Mitry.