4-footed surgery #dogs

I was sweatin’ it yesterday.  

Fat White Dog went the vet’s office for tumor removal.   Both tumors were benign, the signs of her discomfort the only reason I chose to put her through the surgery.  She’d rubbed the tumor on her back until it formed sores, and continually chewed at her tail.

If you want to know how much I love my 9 year old puppy,  and how much she loves me, this picture and haiku (published April 6, 2014) says it all:

purejoy

Pure joy shining white

Love pours Daisy flower hearts

Echoing my smile.

The guilt began the moment I put her pink collar on.  She raced around the car, relaying what she couldn’t say, “I’m the only dog allowed to ride!” hopping up and down and into the car without question.   She watched out the window, her happiment spilling over.  

My heart died a little when my 4-footed companion saw the vets office and wondered, “Was I bad?”

My motto is, “Never do anything to a dog or cat that you wouldn’t do to yourself.”  Because I know what it’s like to go through a slice ‘n dice, I always elect to have a shot for pain given to my doggies and kitties before surgery, and pain medication after coming home.

I worried that she was all alone in a cage crying for her mom.  I worried that she wouldn’t make it through surgery.  By the time 2:00 rolled around, I dialed the vet’s phone number and asked how she was doing.

“She did fine,”  Lisa said.  “They’re just finishing up the surgery.”

I reminded her that I don’t like to leave my loved ones in the vet’s office overnight.  An hour later, I received a call telling me that I could take her home at 5:00.

We arrived on time to a crowded waiting room, watching as each human joyfully received their half-dazed puppies and kitties.  Apparently, I’m not the only one who doesn’t want to leave their loved one in a cage overnight.

When I paid the bill, Lisa asked, “Are you sure you don’t want an e-collar?”

Considering the shape my other 4-footed companions had been in, I expected 4 days of sleep with an occasional potty break on a leash, so I said, “no.” 

At 5:40, a joyfully jumping Fat White Dog pulled at her leash when she saw mom!  

Never have I witnessed a dog with sutures on the back and tail, or anywhere else, act as if nothing had happened!  Her eyes were glazed over and she was a bit goofy…er but her coordination worked well.  

All my other dogs needed help getting into the car.  She jumped in as if the surgery had never happened.  All my other dogs were too out of it to care about their ride.   Her eyes were still watery and dilated, but she stared out the window drinking in the view.

At home, she jumped from the car, pulling me along as she ran toward her pee spot.  I spent last night trying to make her stop wiggling on her back and chewing her rear. 

This is going to be a very, very long 2 weeks.