Rational(ized) Conversations

P1040905

Winter in Florida: Seeing beauty in sky and trees when others see dark clouds gathering.

Hi there God, the universe, or whatever I’m talking to that isn’t evil.  Do you know how hard it is to type in the dark when the cats insist on having a heater running?  You’d think they’d want to live in Alaska with all that hair.  

 .

They’re body temperature is much higher than yours.

 .

Some days I think I was a cat in another life.  By the time 2 in the afternoon rolled around yesterday, I thought I was in the refrigerator crisper drawer.  Did I mention that I despise air conditioning?

 .

You also tell people that it’s easier to pile on the clothes than to make other people take off clothes to be more comfortable.

 .

But when I’m contemplating bringing a ski mask to work, something isn’t right.

 .

The office you’re using is a windowless cave, just the way you like it.  Few things in the world are win-win.  Something is sacrificed.

 .

I’m contemplating a grilled cheese sandwich made with the cheapest white bread available, Butter flavor Pam and Velveeta.

 .

Your go-to comfort food, second only to chocolate.  Your stomach doesn’t like either.

 .

Why is the world such a violent place?  Why do people have to move next door to people who’ve been on their land for decades and expect them to change the way they do things?  I mean, a religious group that moves next to a pig farmer and tells HIM to change?  They had to know what they were moving next to.  He was there first and if they were so stupid they insisted on buying land next to a pig farm and moving there anyway, they deserve to listen to pig races during their service.

 .

Several hundred years ago, people landed in a place where the natives roamed freely.  The natives helped the new settlers, until the settlers became invaders.  They made good use of the horses the Europeans brought with them and learned how to use their weapons.

 .

In the end, it was the huge numbers of Europeans that almost eradicated the indigenous people. 

 .

You’re of European stock.

 .

My heritage is Irish and French Canadian.  Even Europe didn’t consider the Irish to be Europeans.  Irish were subject to slavery and there were attempts at genocide.  French Canadians are a separate species  Everybody knows that.

 .

Rationalization.  The key component responsible for more misery in the world than violence.

 .

That may be so, but it doesn’t stop the fact that people who become enlightened and seek peace, or technologically advanced, throughout ages past have fallen to the most savage.  The invaders used their religion to rationalize their conquest.  I’m including ancient communist Russia, circa 1950, who was religiously atheist. 

 .

What do you pray for each and every night?

 .

That every string that makes up every atom that makes up every molecule of our being vibrates at the rate, frequency, and intensity of the greatest possible mental, physical, and spiritual health, well-being and positivity.

 

And what else do you pray?

 .

That the dogma surrounding all of us, including me, becomes as dust so that we can see clearly who we are in God and who God is in us.  That the straight jacket of cultural belief is released from the world and we see clearly the truth.  Not the truth that any human or other species might want us to believe, but the truth of the maker of all things, the creator, the one that has no beginning or end.

 .

How does it make you feel to write it out?

 .

Calmer.  And I’m not craving grilled cheese.

 .

I hear your prayer, your fear that in a violent universe there can be no peace.  But remember:  Where there is beauty, there is peace, and what one person believes is beautiful may not be so to another.

 .

I think I get it!  I despise the color yellow in large quantities.  It hurts my eyes so I associate the color with pain.  To me, cantaloupe tastes like vomit.  But there are people in the world who find solace and joy sitting in a yellow room eating cantaloupe. 

 .

Something like that. 

 .

I just don’t want the people who like cantaloupe and yellow rooms to try and force me to live the same way.

 .

What if there were no dangers, if no one had to suffer. What if there were enough food and shelter for everyone to live equally and in harmony?

 .

Someone has to reap and to sow, someone has to build the houses, and some asshole would want to live in a mansion and tell everyone what to do. 

 .

Are you ready to go to sleep now? 

.

As soon as I finish drinking my Earl Grey Decaf.  And pet a cat.