The 3 am grateful

Sand-in-the-bed syndrome can be caused by this. Beware.

Sand-in-the-bed syndrome can be caused by this. Beware.

Ever have one of those days when the cat dumps sand in your lap and wriggles around so it grinds into your pajamas?  Yes?

Ever have one of those days when you wake up to an earthquake because the dog is scratching next to you on the bed?  Yes?  

Ever have one of those days when you go to work, see green fuzz on the floorboards and realize you have grass growing out of the carpet?  No?  Neither do I, but it makes a helluva mental movie.

All right,  I admit it.  MY LIFE IS BORING AND I DON’T GET OUT MUCH ANYMORE.

What am I going to do about it?   Well, you’re in luck.  I made a list!

  1. I’m going to be grateful I don’t live in a war zone.
  2. I’m going to look in my refrigerator and my cabinets and be thankful I have enough food to feed the population of my household for at least a week.
  3. I’m going to smile at the perfect dogmobile no one wants to steal and at the fact that it runs so well on the rare occasion I need to go somewhere.
  4. Then, I’m going to pet the cats, spray down the dogs, sweep the sand out of my bed, and have a piece of chocolate.

As we all know, chocolate makes everything better, unless you’re in a war zone.  Then you can only hope that both sides run out of bullets and are so busy scratching from unremitting flea-bite-us that they can’t take the time to fight each other.

Some mental movies are better than others.